Call us +91 135 2658417

About Us | History

Presbyterian Theological Seminary (PTS) was established in 1969 to train men and women from a Bible-believing, Reformed perspective for service in God’s Kingdom. The Seminary began, with seven students on the roll, in Roorkee, then a part of the state of Uttar Pradesh. In 1978 the Seminary moved to its present location in Dehra Dun.

The decision to establish a Reformed Seminary to prepare pastors, teachers and other leaders for the Church was made on February 1, 1969 at a joint meeting of two evangelical Presbyteries, the North India Presbytery of the Bible Presbyterian Church and the Saharanpur Presbytery of the Reformed Presbyterian Church. Later on, these two Presbyteries united to form one denomination. The historical links of the Seminary are, thus, with the Reformed Presbyterian Church, and their antecedents in the United States. However, the Seminary is not sponsored by any particular denomination or organization. PTS is financially supported through the by tuition fees and contributions of God's people.